Finalists announced for 2014 Leaders in Health Care Awards

Winners in each category will be honored during an Oct. 29 event

By Valerie Engler
Thursday, August 21, 2014

The Minnesota Business magazine team is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2014 Leaders in Health Care Awards. With help from our expert panel of judges, three finalists were selected in each category. Additionally, four companies were selected to a “dream team” of business partners, each from a different field (law, accounting, venture capital, real estate) but all serving the health care industry.

The health care professionals and companies listed below will be featured in the November issue of Minnesota Business, and will be honored during a celebratory event on Oct. 29.

To purchase individual tickets, click here. For group ticket and table sponsorship information, contact advertising director Sara Ferden. Listed below are the categories and finalists (in alphabetical order).

Startup Award
Awarded to a remarkable new health care company established within the past three years and based in Minnesota
Belay Energy
Mill City Innovation & Collaboration Center

Software/Web Application Award
Awarded to a Minnesota-based company that has launched software or an online service that is innovative, effective, and targeted at the health care industry

Employee Wellness Program Award
Awarded to an organization that has implemented a measurable wellness program to promote the health and well-being of its employees through notable programs and benefits
Prime Therapeutics
Regions Hospital

Community Outreach Award
Awarded to a Minnesota organization that has created an awareness program that successfully educates or informs the general community about vital health care issues
American Diabetes Association
Community Health Charities Minnesota
Vikings Fitness Playbook, Minnesota Vikings Football

Innovation in Medical Devices Award
Awarded to a company that has created or significantly improved medical technology
Inspire Medical Systems
Rotation Medical

Education and Workforce Development Award
Awarded to an organization significantly helping to engage and train workers for the future of Minnesota’s health care industry
Surgical Science
University of Minnesota School of Public Health Mentor Program
Vital Simulations

Interior Design/Architecture Project Award
Awarded to a health care facility that has created a building or space that notably enhances the patient experience
Park Nicollet
Penny George Institute for Health and Healing, Allina Health
PrairieCare, Chaska

Health Care Executive Award
Awarded to an executive of a Minnesota-based health care company who has demonstrated personal excellence in industry advocacy, educational efforts, philanthropy, patient care, and employee culture
Mary Brainerd, President & CEO, HealthPartners
Susan Gunderson, CEO, LifeSource
Theresa Pesch, RN, President, Children’s Foundation, Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota

Health Care Practitioner Award
Awarded to an individual who has operated at an exceptional level in their field of practice
Dr. Mary Gregory, Owner, Omni Vision and Learning Center & Partner, Uptown Eye Care, Monticello
Yoav H. Messinger, MD, Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota
Gwen Verchota, Care Development Manager, virtuwell

Lifetime Achievement Award
Awarded to an individual who has made major accomplishments in Minnesota’s health care industry over two or more decades
Jan Malcolm, President, Courage Kenny Foundation; VP, Public Affairs Allina Health
Brock Nelson, President & CEO, Regions Hospital
Glen D. Nelson, MD, Chairman, GDN Holdings

Champion Award
Presented to an individual who has focused their efforts to elevate the profile/status of the state’s health care industry
Dr. Archelle Georgiou, KSTP
Amy Salmela, Partner, Patterson Thuente
Susan Willman, VP of Wellness Business, Optum

Change Agent Award
Awarded to an individual who is driving advancements in discovery and innovation through research, delivery of care, or a new procedure
Dr. Marnie Peterson, College of Pharmacy, University of Minnesota
Joseph Petronio, MD, Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota
Michael Rosenbloom, MD, HealthPartners Center for Memory and Aging

Emerging Leader Award
Awarded to a health care professional (practitioner/administrator) under the age of 40 who has already demonstrated remarkable achievements
John Blaska, President, Everspring Health
Megan Brandt, Director of Regulatory Affairs and Quality Assurance, Cardiovascular Systems Inc. (CSI)
Brandon Sawalich, Senior VP of Sales, Marketing and Customer Relations, Starkey Hearing Technologies

Business Dream Team
Recognizes excellence in various services provided to the health care industry in Minnesota
Legal: Winthrop & Weinstine
Accounting: McGladrey
Venture Capital: TreeHouse Health
Commercial Real Estate: The Davis Group