2016 Leaders in Health Care Awards

Thank you to our Presenting Sponsor
Thank you to our Signature Sponsor

Thank you to those who attended the 2016 Leaders in Health Care celebration!

To purchase photos from the event, click here.

To read the 2016 Leaders in Health Care Awards feature, click here.

To read the November issue, click here.

For details about last year's event, and for the 2015 list, click here.

About the event:
Minnesota Business magazine aims to honor those who lead, and as the state of Minnesota leads the health care industry, we are excited to recognize its health care leaders. These leaders are recognized as an individual or a company that has supported and accelerated the regional health care industry through business growth in the medical field, corporate philanthropy and workplace innovations. A celebratory event was held on October 27, 2016 in the Twin Cities.

2016 Leaders in Health Care Awards

2016 Leaders in Health Care - Quality Care

2016 Leaders in Health Care - Leadership



Startup Award

Awarded to a remarkable new health care company established within the past three years and based in Minnesota.

Winner: Learn to Live
Finalist: Sansoro Health
Finalist: RetraceHealth

Community Outreach Award

Awarded to a Minnesota organization in any industry that has created an awareness program that successfully educates or informs the general community about vital health care issues.

Winner: Allina Health
Finalist: Catholic Eldercare
Finalist: Otto Bremer Trust

Interior Design or Architecture Award

Awarded to a health care facility that has created a building or space that notably enhances the patient and employee experience.

Winner: University of Minnesota Masonic Children's Hospital
Finalist: PrairieCare
Finalist: University of Minnesota Health

Software/Web Application Award

Awarded to a Minnesota-based company that has launched software or an online service that is innovative, effective, and targeted at the health care industry.

Winner: Sansoro Health
Finalist: Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota
Finalist: UnitedHealth Group

Employee Wellness Program Award

Awarded to an organization in any industry that has implemented a significant wellness program to promote the health and well-being of its employees through notable programs and benefits.

Winner: Living Well Disability Services
Finalist: Lakewood Health System
Finalist: Target

Innovations in Medical Device Award

Awarded to a company that has created or significantly improved medical technology.

Winner: Sonex Health
Finalist: Geneticure Inc.
Finalist: Tamarack Habilitation Technologies Inc.

Education and Workforce Development Award

Awarded to an organization significantly engaging and training workers for the future of Minnesota’s health care industry.

Winner: Bridgeworks
Finalist: Children’s Minnesota
Finalist: University of St. Thomas Health Care MBA

Champion Award

Presented to an individual who has focused his or her efforts to elevate the profile/status of the state’s health care industry or a particular cause.
Winner: Dr. Donna Block, Physician, President and Chief Executive Officer, Clinic Sofia
Finalist: Glafira Marcon, Board Member and Lead Organizer,
Finalist: Paul and Susan Rosenau, Co-Founders, The Legacy of Angels Foundation

Health Care Practitioner Award

Awarded to an individual who has operated at an exceptional level in their field of practice.

Winner: Dr. Laura Gandrud, Pediatric Endocrinologist, Children’s Minnesota
Finalist: Priya Verghese, M.D., MPH, Pediatric Nephrologist, University of Minnesota Masonic Children's Hospital
Finalist: Steve Claypool, VP of Clinical Development, Wolters Kluwer

Emerging Leader Award

Awarded to a health care professional (practitioner/administrator) under the age of 40 who has already demonstrated remarkable achievements and shows great promise for the future.

Winner: Drew Zinkel, MD, Medical Director and Associate Medical Director for Health Plan Quality, HealthPartners
Finalist: Dr. Jewelia Wagner, Ob-Gyn, Clinic Sofia
Finalist: Thompson Aderinkomi, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, RetraceHealth

Health Care Executive Award

Awarded to an executive of a Minnesota-based health care company who has demonstrated personal excellence in industry advocacy, educational efforts, philanthropy, patient care, and employee culture.

Winner: Sarah Stoesz, President and Chief Executive Officer, Planned Parenthood MN, ND, SD
Finalist: Andrea Walsh, Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer, HealthPartners
Finalist: Grace Tangjerd Schmitt, President, Guild Incorporated

Lifetime Achievement Award

Awarded to an individual who has made major accomplishments in Minnesota’s health care industry over two or more decades.
Recipient: Manny Villafaña, Ph.D.Sc., Founder, Former Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, CPI/Guidant Corp., St. Jude Medical, Inc., ATS Medical/Medtronic, Medical 21, Inc.