Health care leaders receive awards, recognition

virtuwell, Rotation Medical, and MyMeds among those honored during 2014 Leaders in Health Care Awards

By Valerie Engler
Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Hundreds of medical professionals from across the state gathered Wednesday, Oct. 29, to celebrate the 2014 Leaders in Health Care Awards by Minnesota Business magazine. The annual event, held at the Minneapolis Marriot City Center, recognized industry leaders in 14 different categories. Finalists in each category were announced in early September and winners were revealed over drinks and dinner during the evening's ceremony.

Mary Lahammer, program host and political reporter for Twin Cities Public Television, was the event emcee. She led attendees through a program that included the use of mobile technology platform VoiceHive.

The celebration wouldn't have been possible without the help of The Bailey Group, KeyStone Search, and McGladrey -- all main event sponsors.

The awards gala honored recipients as follows:

Software/Web Application
Winner: virtuwell
Finalist: Zipnosis
Finalist: PreciouStatus
Awarded to a Minnesota-based company that has launched software or an online service that is innovative, effective, and targeted at the health care industry

Employee Wellness Program Award
Winner: Prime Therapeutics
Finalist: Regions Hospital
Finalist: StoneArch
Awarded to an organization that has implemented a measurable wellness program to promote the health and well-being of its employees through notable programs and benefits

Community Outreach Award
Winner: Community Health Charities Minnesota
Finalist: American Diabetes Association Minnesota
Finalist: Vikings Fitness Playbook, Minnesota Vikings Football
Awarded to a Minnesota organization that has created an awareness program that successfully educates or informs the general community about vital health care issues

Innovation in Medical Devices Award
Winner: Rotation Medical
Finalist: EmboMedics
Finalist: Inspire Medical Systems
Awarded to a company that has created or significantly improved medical technology

Education and Workforce Development Award
Winner: University of Minnesota School of Public Health Mentor Program
Finalist: Surgical Science
Finalist: Vital Simulations
Awarded to an organization significantly helping to engage and train workers for the future of Minnesota’s health care industry

Interior Design/Architecture Project Award
Winner: PrairieCare Chaska
Finalist: Park Nicollet Women's Center
Finalist: Penny George Institute for Health and Healing, Outpatient Clinic, Abbott Northwestern-WestHealth
Awarded to a health care facility that has created a building or space that notably enhances the patient experience

Startup Award
Winner: MyMeds
Finalist: Belay Energy
Finalist: Mill City Innovation & Collaboration Center
Awarded to a remarkable new health care company established within the past three years and based in Minnesota

Professional Services Dream Team
Venture Capital: TreeHouse Health
Real Estate: The Davis Group
Accounting: McGladrey
Law: Winthrop & Weinstine
Recognizes excellence in professional services provided to the health care industry in Minnesota

Health Care Executive Award
Winner: Susan Gunderson, CEO, LifeSource
Finalist: Mary Brainerd, President & CEO, HealthPartners
Finalist: Theresa Pesch, President, Children’s Foundation, Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota
Awarded to an executive of a Minnesota-based health care company who has demonstrated personal excellence in industry advocacy, educational efforts, philanthropy, patient care, and employee culture

Health Care Practitioner Award
Winner: Dr. Mary Gregory, Owner, Omni Vision and Learning Center & Partner, Uptown Eye Care, Monticello
Finalist: Dr. Yoav H. Messinger, Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota
Finalist: Gwen Verchota, Care Delivery Manager, virtuwell
Awarded to an individual who has operated at an exceptional level in their field of practice

Champion Award
Winner: Dr. Archelle Georgiou, KSTP-TV
Finalist: Amy Salmela, Partner, Patterson Thuente
Finalist: Susan Willman, VP of Service Delivery, Medicare Exchanges, Optum
Presented to an individual who has focused their efforts to elevate the profile/status of the state’s health care industry

Change Agent Award
Winner: Dr. Joseph Petronio, Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota
Finalist: Dr. Marnie Peterson, College of Pharmacy, University of Minnesota
Finalist: Dr. Michael Rosenbloom, HealthPartners Center for Memory & Aging
Awarded to an individual who is driving advancements in discovery and innovation through research, delivery of care, or a new procedure

Emerging Leader Award
Winner: Brandon Sawalich, Senior Vice President, Starkey Hearing Technologies
Finalist: John Blaska, President, Everspring Health
Finalist: Megan Brandt, Director of Regulatory Affairs & Quality Assurance, Cardiovascular Systems Inc. (CSI)
Awarded to a health care professional (practitioner/administrator) under the age of 40 who has already demonstrated remarkable achievements

Lifetime Achievement Award
Recipient: Jan Malcolm, CEO, Courage Kenny Foundation; VP, Public Affairs, Allina Health
Recipient: Brock Nelson, President & CEO, Regions Hospital
Recipient: Dr. Glen D. Nelson, Chairman, GDN Holdings
Awarded to an individual who has made major accomplishments in Minnesota’s health care industry over two or more decades