Winners announced for the 2014 Community Impact Awards

StoneArch, Code42, and Gray Plant Mooty were among the businesses honored

By Valerie Engler
Thursday, February 27, 2014

Winners for the 2014 Community Impact Awards by Minnesota Business Magazine were announced during a Feb. 27 celebration held at Aria in Minneapolis.

With the help of presenting sponsors McGladreyMedia Relations, and Sunrise Banks, hundreds gathered to honor Minnesota businesses and organizations working to make a difference in the communities they serve.

Category winners and finalists are profiled in the March 2014 issue of Minnesota Business magazine. Listed below are the winners of each category, along with the top finalists.

Best in Class Award: Large

Recognizes large companies (more than 500 employees) that have excelled at helping nonprofits or other worthy causes.

Winner: Bell State Bank & Trust
Finalist: Bremer Bank 
Finalist: The Mosaic Company

Best in Class Award: Midsize

Recognizes midsize companies (51 to 500) that have excelled at helping nonprofits or other worthy causes.

Winner: Marsh & McLennan Agency Upper Midwest 
Finalist: Sunrise Banks
Finalist: The Nerdery

Best in Class Award: Small

Recognizes small companies (50 or fewer employees) that have excelled at helping nonprofits or other worthy causes.

Winner: Versique
Finalist: StoneArch 
Finalist: Worrell Design

Creative Campaign Award

Recognizes pro-bono marketing campaigns by Minnesota creative agencies created for nonprofits or other worthy organizations.

Winner: StoneArch 
Finalist: Swim Creative 
Finalist: WestmorelandFlint

Employment Award

Recognizes companies for providing jobs to Minnesotans -- or purposefully keeping jobs in the state.

Winner: Code42 
Finalist: Earth-Kind 
Finalist: Morrissey Hospitality Companies

Good Leader Award

Recognizes businesspeople whose excellence in character and leadership have made a positive impact.

Winner: David Reiling, CEO, Sunrise Banks 
Finalist: Mark Bergman, President/CEO, Bercom  
Finalist: Jeff Gau, CEO, Marco
Finalist: Nancy Lyons, President/CEO, Clockwork Active Media 
Finalist: John Wernz, Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer, Wealth Enhancement Group

Long-term Achievement Award

Recognizes companies that have shown at least 10 years of commitment to helping nonprofits or other worthy causes.

Winner: Gray Plant Mooty 
Finalist: Risdall Marketing Group 
Finalist: Starkey Hearing Technologies

Mentoring Award

Recognizes company programs that help with the mentoring of rising talent in Minnesota.

Winner: JNBA Financial Advisors 
Finalist: Fairview Health Services 
Finalist: PrairieCare

Pro Bono Professional Services

Recognizes Minnesota companies that have performed pro-bono services for nonprofits or other worthy organizations. Examples could include consulting, accounting services, and legal work.

Winner: Stinson Leonard Street 
Finalist: Deloitte 
Finalist: RBA

Social Entrepreneurship Award

Recognizes Minnesota companies that were created to address social, environmental, or other issues.

Winner: Urban Ventures
Finalist: Finnegans
Finalist: Tech Dump

Sustainability Award

Recognizes companies for offering their products or services in a way that's better for the environment.

Winner: Uponor
Finalist: EarthClean Corporation 
Finalist: Relan

Workplace Giving Campaign Award

Recognizes a successful volunteer or employee-giving campaign for a nonprofit or other worthy organization.

Winner: C.H. Robinson 
Finalist: Carlson
Finalist: Eide Bailly

Youth Initiative Award

Recognizes events or programs by Minnesota companies that teach children skills, introduce them to fields of work, or inspire them to become the leaders of tomorrow.

Winner: Baker Tilly 
Finalist: H.B. Fuller 
Finalist: Rêve